Skip navigation

I am not the slightest bit of surprised to find so many results when ‘Googl-ing’ my name, and even more so when realizing that none of the outcomes had anything to do with me. Apparently the name Michael Nguyen seems to be very popular. I am simply just another individual who has the honour of sharing such a name. Through the search, I found links to facebook members, other digital media artist web pages and various blog sites, however none of which were pertaining to me. Some contributing factors to why I am so hidden are most likely due to my highly set privacy settings on all of my social network accounts, and the fact that I tend to come up with different usernames on every new account that I create, just to prevent any unusual online experiences or encounters.

To be quite honest, I am not entirely sure if there were something that I would try to hide from an employer or a teacher in regards to my Digital Footprint. The sole purpose of having a digital footprint in itself is to be found or recognized is it not? In discovering that there is so little to come across with my online identity I would not be able to declare what should or should not be seen by employers or teachers. However I believe the difficulty to find me is just as bad as hiding my digital identity to begin with. A possible solution to my problem is to create accounts with less privacy settings activated, similar usernames and for me to submit posts with the same tags.

Leave a comment